Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.


Album Review: Big Gigantic – The Night Is Young

Well Dom and Jeremy are back at it again starting off 2014 with a bang as they drop their brand new 7 track album entitled The Night is Young. Teaming up with Cherub for the albums title track, Big G brings us an album filled with a massive amount of variety combined with their classic funk infused sounds. From the gorgeous lyrics provided by Cherub on The Night is Young collaboration to the beautiful smooth instrumental track that is Touch The Sky this album truly has it all. Cloudbvrst begins the album with some serious energy and big horns that are sure to get your blood flowing, the album as a whole surprised me with its intensity but next level production and some serious musical talent truly make this an amazing creation. We are huge fans of Big Gigantic over here at MMIBTY and we couldn’t be more stoked on seeing the guys from Boulder continue their climb to the top of the live-tronica scene. Oh, and one more thing, did I forget to mention the whole album is available for Free Download Right Here? And for that we thank you Big G. Also be sure to check the full Night is Young tour schedule after the drop!

Purchase Album on iTunes | Full Night is Young Tour Schedule below:

Continue Reading…

Egbert – Warm (Album)

Egbert van der Gugten, a producer and DJ from the Netherlands, just released his album titled “Warm” on Gem Records this past week. After listening, it’s safe to say that the twenty-six year old is well on his way to becoming one of the more respected talents in the techno field. With scores of releases and chart-topping tracks such as “Haasten” and “Straktrekken,” Egbert has become a household name in the underground scene in recent years. Now on Cocoon‘s roster, Egbert is up there playing across the globe alongside Sven Vath, Ricardo Villalobos, Secret Cinema, Josh Wink, and Carl Cox.

Warm” takes off with smooth, soaring synths, and an eerie but gentle reverie in “Fonkel,” which translates to “sparkling” in English. This track is just that; sparkling and full of flair. When you put it on you feel like you’re steering a spaceship effortlessly through another galaxy. The second track, Magic Night, features some cool vocal samples and boasts a strong progressive melody but retains a sort of minimal charm. Third on the album is Shulgin, presumably dedicated to the great Dr. Alexander “Sasha” Shulgin. This intricately percussive track shoves you into the driver seat and onto the highway with its driving beat and wandering ditties.

Hemelpoort, which means gates of heaven in English, is next. Euphoric harps travel far and wide accompanied by a soothing, sturdy drum beat. Picture you and all of your best friends in a party bus or limousine going to or from a festival, club, or afterhours spot. It’s just got that sultry and seductive aura about it that begs to be enjoyed in the company of loved ones. Fifth on the ticket is Gevoel, the interlude, which actually translates to “feeling.” Gevoel has a nice exaggerated dub kick to it and features a hypnotic buzz that transforms into a beautifully mesmerizing melody. If the job of the interlude is to make it seem like the listener has just scaled a steep mountain and trudged through a valley, then Egbert has certainly succeeded.

Continue Reading…

Armin Van Buuren’s “Intense:” He’s Still The King

 Even while riding a wave of overwhelming success (the King and Queen of the Netherlands recently stopped by the DJ booth during his set on Kings Day), Armin Van Buuren still presents an enigma in the world of dance music. In a genre where authenticity is criticized daily, he manages to maintain a unique sound—he should; after all, he practically shaped trance for the past twenty years. But at the same time, he’s a chameleon, adapting trance to the sounds surrounding the dance community. He’s all at once a leader and a follower. On Intense, his fifth studio album, this duality shines through and illuminates the work as, if not his finest, at least his most approachable.

Continue Reading…

A-Trak, Diplo and Skrillex Livestream #WeirdestNightEver

Well I am not really sure what the massive conglomerate the Potato Will Eat You has in store for us tonight, but according to their Youtube channel live streaming of the #WeirdestNightEver will begin in less than 30 minutes!  Now with the little information I have been able to find this appears to be some sort of listening party in celebration of Major Lazer’s new album Free the Universe. I have no clue what Diplo, Skrillex, and A-trak have in store for us but I can only imagine it will be a great hour of tunes followed by some sort of karaoke??? I don’t know what these three are up to tonight, but if your just sitting on the couch you might as well turn off MTV and actually listen to some music. Find a couple of my favorites from the new Major Lazer album below as well, be sure to check out the whole Free the Universe Album here.

Watch Out for This [Bumaye] (feat Busy Signal, The Flexican & FS Green)

Keep Cool (feat Shaggy & Wynter Gordon)

You’re No Good (feat Santigold, Vybz Kartel, Danielle Haim & Yasmin)

MartyParty: Six Shots of Jameson EP Review

MartyParty will continue his evolution of “Purple Music” on January 30th with the debut of his new EP entitled Six Shots of Jameson. We were lucky enough to preview the album for you and bring you a few pre-released tracks. Marty’s new EP picks up right where the likes of the Purple Rage mixtape and Sub On album left off, although this EP is seemingly chilled out in comparison. Marty blends a combination of deep bass, chilling highs, and perfectly sampled vocals making for another seemingly gorgeous audio spectacle unifying the likes of hip-hop and dubstep into a greater whole. The whole album flows together flawlessly and this can be attributed to the need MartyParty has expressed for maintaining “the art of musical compisition” in all of his pieces. In striving to reach this goal Marty has basically created a symphony of sounds and rhythms that blend and work as well if not better than the sounds of the traditional classical orchestra. Take all of this thought and add in a flurry of intensely bass driven drops, a multitude of classic hip hop and rap hooks, a cluster of amazingly airy horn samples, and you have Six Shots of Jameson. The album maintains its mellow feel throughout, but doesn’t lack in the filth department whatsoever, Marty maintains his forever grimy sound while continuing our education in purple music. This new EP is not to be missed and will be available in its entirety to the public on January 30th. Also don’t forget to check out the Six Shots of Jameson Tour, with a multitude of stops MartyParty is most likely coming to a a town near you. Below are the three tracks that have been released from Six Shots of Jameson, as well as MartyPartys brand new face-devouring re-wobble on the Clint Mansell classic Lux Aerterna (Warning: This track Goes Extremely Hard).

Marty Party – We Dont Give a Damn

Marty Party – Pretty Thoughts

Marty Party – Just Because of You

Clint Mansell – Lux Aerterna (MartyParty remix)